What to Do If You Are Arrested for Battery Domestic Violence
Like most crimes in the state of Nevada, being arrested for battery domestic violence entails many consequences. While being arrested for a crime is not exactly peaceful, the best thing to do is to accept your position before doing anything else, as acting impulsively might do more damage.
Las Vegas domestic violence attorneys are ready to serve you at the time of your arrest to ensure that you stay rational throughout the process. Keep reading for more information on how to deal with this situation.
What leads to arrest
Like any other causes of arrest, it all starts with the perpetration of the crime. A victim of battery domestic violence has many ways to report an incident. First is by calling the police who will then arrive to investigate. Usually, this ends with the suspect being taken into custody. Victims can also run to domestic violence centers, family, or friends who will then report the battery.
If police officers come to arrest you, you must stay calm. Do not lash out, purposely hurt, or run away from them, your partner, or any supposed victim. You also cannot reason out your way out of an arrest as you might say anything against yourself because of your desire of escaping the apprehension.
Exhibit your rights
One of most common statements said by officers during an arrest is “You have the right to remain silent” and truly, applying this is right for your own advantage. When arrested, you are not yet sentenced so be courteous and careful about every word and action as everything can be used to incriminate you.
During the arrest or custody, call and consult your domestic violence attorney immediately to learn more about the rest of your legal rights.
What follows an arrest
After the arrest, you and the plaintiff will make a court appearance (called arraignment) where the complaints against you will be enumerated. This is also the moment where you will have to submit your plea. After this initial meeting, more court trials will follow where prosecutors will show pieces of evidence or testimonies against you. Of course, this is also the time to defend yourself.
The help of an attorney
In order to defend yourself, you will need the help of a domestic violence attorney. Between court trials, you and your attorney will investigate the case to spot holes and come up with defenses that you can utilize.
As Battery Domestic Violence is a felony case in Nevada, you will be charged with certain penalties:
- 2 days to 6 months of imprisonment, possibly in the Clark County Detention Center (CCDC)
- Community service of at least 120 hours
- A fine that ranges from $2,000 to $1,000
- Weeks of counselling programs
In order to avoid these charges, make sure you hire a domestic violence attorney who is competent and has your best interest in mind!