Driving with a Restricted License in Nevada
When convicted of DUI (Driving under the Influence), your driver’s license will be revoked by the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). This is gravely disadvantageous to anyone because through driving, a person is able to go to work, bring his kids to school, and do other essential errands. Good thing there exists restricted licenses which you can use to accomplish important matters for yourself and for your family. Below are further definition of a restricted license in Nevada and the limits that you should respect in order to continue driving.
What is a restricted license in Nevada?
People who have their licenses revoked can get a restricted license in Nevada. Basically, this type of license allows you to drive to certain areas only such as a workplace, school, hospital, grocery, and even homes where an offspring is (child visitation). You cannot drive or stop to other places not indicated in the specifics of your restricted license.
Restricted licenses in Nevada are issued to help Nevada DUI convicts still live normally (especially if their case is a misdemeanor and no death or injury was involved) and to safeguard welfare of the convicts’ family. For example, the DUI convict is a single mother, she needs a restricted license in order to get her children to school and go to work so she can provide for her their needs.
How do you get a restricted license in Nevada?
You need to wait out some significant amount of time before you can apply for a restricted license in Nevada. As jail times for misdemeanor Nevada DUIs usually only lasts up to six months, you still need to stay still before making any move. A license revocation for a first DUI lasts up to 185 days and within this time, you need to wait for 93 days to pass before you can try obtaining a restricted license.
However, you cannot apply for a restricted license for a second DUI conviction within seven years as a sort of penance but you can get one for a third DUI within a year of three-year revocation as the substantial length of time is considered.
To get a restricted license, you need to contact the DMV and notify them that you are planning to have a restricted license. Once you have initially sorted it out, you must head to the DMV and fill out the Restricted License application form. You also need to show your SR-22 or the proof of financial responsibility and the evidence of you having an interlock device on your vehicle.
Indicating the places you wish to drive to with your restricted license but you need to enclose an affidavit in order to be approved. For example, you need to go to a doctor because of a medical condition. You need to provide a report from your doctor and an affidavit from other people to verify your medical needs.
The DMV shall provide you with the results on the date they seem most fitting. Some reasons for the denial of your restricted license application are already having driving violation convictions within the past five years or being suspended for having a third point demerit.
What are the penalties for violating rules of restricted licenses in Nevada?
As it name, drivers are restricted to go to places beyond what is in their application. Stopping by a mall to eat out or swerving by a park to sight-see are prohibited if you have a restricted license in Nevada.
Violating regulations could mean a misdemeanor in Nevada where you could be imposed with up to six months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
However, you could defend your traversal to other places by citing duress, coercion, or because your vehicle malfunctioned.
Losing your rights to driving is as bad as fines and a jail time. Do not let this happen by having a DUI lawyer in Las Vegas on your side when you encounter a Nevada DUI charge. A reliable DUI lawyer should not only help you avoid a time behind bars but will also keep you from resorting to restricted licenses just to be able to drive.